Tager Law Firm, P.A.

Battery / Aggravated Battery

. Posted in Florida Criminal Defense


Criminal Charge of Battery in Florida is defined as the intentional touching or strinking of another person, without consent, or intentionally causes bodily harm to another.

A first conviction for Battery is a first degree misdemeanor and will subject the Defendant to a maximum penalty of one year in the CountyJail and a fine of up to $1,000. A second conviction is a third degree felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of $5,000.

Aggravated Battery is a second degree felony with a maximum penalty of 15 years in Florida State Prison and a $10,000 fine. There are several ways a person can be accused of committing an Aggravated Battery. The person must have comitted a Battery and in the commission of committing the Battery the Defendant either,

  • intentionally or knowingly causes great bodily harm,
  • permanent disability or disfigurement, or
  • uses a deadly weapon.

Also a person may be convicted of an Aggravated Battery, if the victim of the Battery was pregnant at the time and the defendant knew or should have known the person was pregnant.






Attorney Robert Tager

(727) 723-1616
26133 US Highway 19 N.
Clearwater, Fl. 33763